[ home ]

Sweet Home Chicago - Muddy Waters and the Rolling Stones

Notice: The digital gestapo have threatened me with their riding crops, so this stuff is going away for now. I can't imagine that Mick and Keith are all that concerned about losing money because a bootleg is being made freely available (and I'm sure that Muddy Waters doesn't give a damn), so it's probably another symptom of too damned many lawyers wasting time and money when they could be better and more appropriately employed cleaning toilets. It shouldn't be too hard to find elsewhere these days. Perhaps I'll bring it back if and when BushCo is removed and the fascistas are in recession.

Nov. 22, 1981
Swingin' Pig Records
Muddy Waters, Mick Jagger, Keith Richards, Ron Wood, Buddy Guy, Junior Wells, Ian Stewart, Lefty Dizz

When Muddy Waters took the stage at the Checkerboard Lounge in Chicago on November 22, 1981 to play a session with members of the Rolling Stones and fellow bluesmen Buddy Guy, Junior Wells and Lefty Dizz, no one expected it to become one of his last live concert appearances. Mick Jagger, Keith Richards, Ron Wood and "fifth Stone" Ian Stewart, staying in Chicago for three concerts on November 23, 24, and 25, were excited to meet their long-time idol, perhaps the greatest bluesman ever and, of course, one of the major influences which led to the formation of the Rolling Stones back in 1962. They even took their band name from one of Waters' songs, "Rolling Stone." The meeting took place in an atmosphere of great anticipation, friendship and respect. Hear Jagger, during "Hoochie Coochie Man," sing the line "...I was born with good luck" and Waters' humorous response to superstar Mick: "...I see that!" ...irresistable! "Time waits for no one" sang the Rolling Stones, whome he had given a part of his unforgettable way of playing the blues. Further proof may be given by three Rolling Stones bonus tracks included in this collection: "I Want to Be Loved" (unreleased studio outtake, IBC Studios, London, March 11, 1963), "I Can't Be Satisfied" (BBC Radio performance on "Top Gear", July 23, 1964) and "I Just Wanna Make Love to You" (live recording, Madrid/Spain, June 17, 1990). We would like to dedicate this record to Muddy "Mississippi" Waters. It was one of his last but definitely not least appearances on stage.



Side 1

1. Sweet Little Angel
2. Flip, Flop and Fly
3. Introduction
4. Down the Road I Go
5. Country Boy
6. I'm a King Bee
7. Someday Baby
8. County Jail

Side 2

1. Baby Please Don't Go
2. Hoochie Coochie Man
3. Long Distance Call
4. Mannish Boy
5. Champagne and Reefer
6. Next Time You See Me
7. Talking About My Woman
8. I Want to Be Loved
9. I Can't Be Satisfied
10. I Just Want to Make Love to You

[ home ]